The parish church of Tarxien was built in 1595 and is dedicated to the Annunciation to Our Lady.
The church was built on the site of three smaller churches dedicated to St. Paul, St. Luke and St. Nicholas.
The wooden statue of the Annunciation of Our Lady was made by Alexander Farrugia of Zejtun in 1829.
The famous Maltese artist Guze Cali painted the two big paintings found in the Choir of the church in 1895. The dome and the ceiling were painted in the 1950’s by Ganni Vella. Other paintings found in this church were executed by Francesco Zahra, R Bonnici Cali, and P.Camilleri Cauchi. The red tapestry, which decorates the church, was brought from Livorno in 1767.
Throughout the years, and up to present times, the people of Tarxien have willingly contributed to the restoration of the church.
As can be seen from our archive film footage, the eroded stonework of the building was crying out for repairs in the 1960s and 1970s.